What is the capital of Rwanda?

Last Updated:

The capital of Rwanda is Kigali. This vibrant city is located in the center of the country and is considered one of the cleanest and safest cities in Africa.

Geographically, Kigali is located in a mountainous region, surrounded by rolling hills and lush forests. The city is divided into three main districts: Kacyiru, Nyarugenge and Gasabo, each offering a unique blend of architecture, culture and activities.

Kigali’s history dates back to the early 20th century, when the city was founded as a small German colony. After Rwanda’s independence in 1962, Kigali became the country’s capital and experienced rapid growth and dramatic modernization.

In recent decades, Kigali has undergone a major transformation, becoming a green and sustainable city with well-planned public spaces, botanical gardens and parks. It has also become an important economic and political center for the East African region, with rapid growth in the technology, tourism, and financial services sectors.

In addition to its economic development, Kigali is also known for its role in Rwanda’s recent history. In 1994, the city was the scene of a genocide in which nearly one million people were killed in 100 days. Since then, Kigali has worked on reconciliation and reconstruction, becoming a symbol of hope for Rwanda and the world.

In conclusion, Kigali is a fascinating and dynamic city that has undergone a remarkable transformation over the past decades. It is a modern and environmentally friendly city, while remaining deeply rooted in the history and culture of Rwanda.



What is the capital of Rwanda?


Kigali is the capital of Rwanda, the economic and administrative center of the country. The city was officially designated in reference to the Mount Kigali at the foot of which it stood.