How many texts contain the Nuremberg Laws passed by Hitler in 1935?

Last Updated:

The Nuremberg Laws of 1935

The Nuremberg Laws are three texts adopted by the Reichstag on the occasion of the seventh annual Nazi Party Congress in Nuremberg on September 15, 1935. Initiated by Adolf Hitler, they were promulgated in Nazi Germany to formalize the systematic discrimination and persecution of Jews.

Adolf Hitler, Chancellor of the Reich, used his power to create a totalitarian regime that rapidly overtook the Weimar Republic. The Nazis dissolved all political parties except the National Socialist German Workers’ Party (NSDAP), led by Hitler, and cut all ties with the German communist and socialist movements. The Nazi regime advocated anti-Semitism and the racial superiority of Germanic Aryans. Nazi ideology advocated the purity of the Aryan race and the rejection of all those who did not belong to it. This propaganda also targeted Gypsies, the mentally ill and Slavs, considered inferior.

The Nuremberg Laws gave the Nazis full power to exterminate the Jews. These laws established legal differences between German citizens considered Aryan and all others considered non-Aryan, including Jews and Gypsies. These laws also prohibited marriage and sexual relations between Aryans and non-Aryans, thus criminalizing interracial relations. These laws also deprived German Jews of their German citizenship and civil rights. They were stripped of their property and possessions and persecuted as a community.

The Nazis began implementing the Final Solution of the Jewish Question, a plan to exterminate all Jews in Europe. The Nazi regime organized mass deportations of Jews and other groups deemed undesirable to concentration camps such as Auschwitz and Dachau. Heinrich Himmler, head of the Gestapo and German police, oversaw this extermination program. The German army also took part in the invasion of Poland in 1939, which resulted in the deportation of some three million Jews to the death camps.

The Nuremberg Laws were finally abolished after the Second World War, during the denazification of Germany. Nazi leaders were prosecuted for their crimes against humanity, notably at the Nuremberg Trials in 1945-1946. Joseph Goebbels, Minister of Propaganda, encouraged the persecution of the Jews and disseminated Nazi propaganda in the media. Hermann Göring, Nazi party leader and military commander, was also convicted of crimes against humanity. The Holocaust Memorial in Berlin commemorates the genocide of Jews and other communities under the Nazi regime. It recalls the tragic consequences of the spread of Nazi ideology and the crimes against humanity that were committed.



How many texts contain the Nuremberg Laws passed by Hitler in 1935?


The Nuremberg Laws are three texts adopted by the Reichstag on the initiative of Adolf Hitler at the seventh annual congress of the Nazi Party in Nuremberg on 15 September 1935: the Reichsflaggengesetz, the Reichsbürgergesetz and the Gesetz zum Schutze des deutschen Blutes und der deutschen Ehre.