How many species does the family of Phocidae include?

Last Updated:

Definition: what is a phocid?

Phocids are a family of marine mammals that includes seals, also called true seals. They are carnivorous animals that feed mainly on fish and crustaceans. Phocids are known for their ability to dive deep into the ocean in search of food and can stay underwater for several minutes.

How many species are there in the Phocidae family?

The Phocidae family includes about 18 different species, distributed in the Arctic and sub-Arctic regions of the Northern Hemisphere as well as in Antarctica. The best known species are the harbor seal, the grey seal, the hooded seal and the Weddell seal.

What is the difference between a sea lion and a seal?

The main difference between a sea lion and a seal is their morphology and behavior. Sea lions have visible external ears and powerful forelimbs that allow them to move around on land in a more agile manner. Seals, on the other hand, have internal ears and shorter front flippers that force them to move on their bellies when on land. Sea lions also have more developed teeth than seals, which allows them to eat a wider variety of prey, while seals eat mainly fish and crustaceans.



How many species does the family of Phocidae include?


The current eighteen species of phocids include true seals and elephant seals. The best known species is that of the harbor seal.