What is the capital of Burkina Faso?

Last Updated:

The capital of Burkina Faso is Ouagadougou. This West African city is the political, economic and cultural center of the country.

Ouagadougou is located in south-central Burkina Faso, about 200 kilometers from the border with Ghana. The city covers an area of more than 2,800 km² and has more than 2 million inhabitants. The climate of the region is tropical with a rainy season from June to September.

The city of Ouagadougou has a rich and varied history. Founded in the 17th century, it was the center of the Mossi empire. During the French colonial period, it became an important commercial city, before becoming the capital of Upper Volta in 1960, then of Burkina Faso in 1984.

Today, Ouagadougou is a dynamic city with a young population and strong economic growth. It is the center of the film industry in West Africa and hosts the Pan-African Film and Television Festival of Ouagadougou every two years. The city is also known for its crafts, local cuisine and traditional architecture.



What is the capital of Burkina Faso?


Ouagadougou, commonly known as Ouaga, is the capital and largest city of Burkina Faso. It is the cultural, economic and administrative centre of the country. The inhabitants of Ouagadougou are the Ouagalais.