What is the capital of Costa Rica?

Last Updated:

The capital of Costa Rica is San José. Founded in 1738, it is located in the center of the country, in the central valley. It is the most populated city in Costa Rica and is home to about one third of the country’s population.

San José is located at an altitude of 1,170 meters above sea level, making it the highest city in Costa Rica. It is surrounded by mountains and green hills, which gives it a cool and pleasant climate throughout the year. The city is also crossed by several rivers, including the Torres River and the Virilla River.

San José has a rich and varied history. Founded by the Spaniards in 1738, it became the capital of Costa Rica in 1823, after the country’s independence. Throughout its history, it has experienced periods of rapid growth and development, as well as periods of economic decline.

Today, San José is the economic and political center of Costa Rica. It is home to many government institutions, national and international companies, as well as universities and research centers. It is also a popular tourist destination for travelers who wish to explore the culture and nature of Costa Rica.

In conclusion, San José is a fascinating city that has much to offer visitors and residents alike. With its rich history, unique geography, and economic and political importance, it is a gem of Costa Rica and a destination not to be missed.



What is the capital of Costa Rica?


San José is the capital and largest city of Costa Rica. It is also the capital of the province of San José. Founded in 1738, the city became the capital of Costa Rica in 1823 in place of Cartago.