What is the capital of Hungary?

Last Updated:

Budapest is the capital of Hungary, a city rich in history and culture. Located in the heart of Europe, Budapest was born of the merger of three cities: Buda, Óbuda and Pest, in 1873.

The city is famous for its many historic sites, thermal baths and breathtaking architecture. Among its most emblematic monuments are the Hungarian Parliament, Buda Castle and St. Stephen’s Basilica. Budapest is also crossed by the majestic Danube, which divides the city into two parts: Buda, with its hills and old quarters, and Pest, the lively modern center.

A visit to Budapest reveals a dynamic capital that combines tradition and modernity, offering visitors a unique experience.



What is the capital of Hungary?


Budapest is the largest city and the capital of Hungary. It is located downstream of the bend of the Danube between the Transdanubian Massif and the Alföld.