What is the capital of Ivory Coast?

Last Updated:

Yamoussoukro is the capital of Côte d’Ivoire. It became the capital in March 1983, succeeding Abidjan as the country’s official capital. Interesting facts about the city include the birthplace of Felix Houphouet-Boigny, the country’s first president, who decided to make Yamoussoukro the country’s capital and built great buildings in the city, including the world’s largest basilica, the Basilica of Our Lady of Peace. The city is also known for its personalized urban planning, with wide avenues often lined with ornamental trees and shrubs, and is an important transportation hub for the country. However, most of the country’s political and administrative institutions are still located in Abidjan, the country’s economic capital.



What is the capital of Ivory Coast?


Yamoussoukro has been the official capital of Ivory Coast since 1983, when it was transferred, although most of the country's political and administrative institutions are based in Abidjan, the country's economic capital and former official capital.