What is the capital of Kyrgyzstan?

Last Updated:

The capital of Kyrgyzstan is Bishkek. The city was designated as the capital of the Kyrgyz Republic in 1991, when the country gained its independence after the collapse of the Soviet Union.

Bishkek is located in the northern part of Kyrgyzstan, at an altitude of 800 meters above sea level, in the Chu Valley. The city is surrounded by mountains, including the Kyrgyz Ala-Too Mountains, which offer spectacular views of the city and its surroundings.

The city’s history dates back to the time of the Russian Empire, when the region was under its rule. Bishkek was originally a small caravan village located on the Silk Road, which connected China to Central Asia and Europe. The city began to develop rapidly in the 1920s and 1930s, when the Soviet government launched a program to develop the region to meet the needs of the mining industry.

Since the independence of Kyrgyzstan in 1991, Bishkek has become the political, cultural and economic center of the country. The city is home to many government buildings, as well as museums, theaters and universities. It is also an important center for light industry, construction and trade.

In terms of security, Bishkek has experienced some problems in the past due to the presence of extremist groups in the area. However, the Kyrgyz government has taken steps to strengthen security in the city and prevent acts of terrorism.

Overall, Bishkek is a booming city that offers beautiful geography, rich history, and unique culture. As the capital of Kyrgyzstan, it plays an important role in the economic and political development of the country.



What is the capital of Kyrgyzstan?


Bishkek is the capital and main city of Kyrgyzstan. The name of Bishkek was adopted by a decision of the parliament in 1992, after the breakup of the Soviet Union and the accession of Kyrgyzstan to the rank of a sovereign state.