What is the capital of Poland?

Last Updated:

Warsaw has been the capital of Poland since 1596, making it the largest city in the country and the economic, political and cultural center of the country. It is located in the center of Poland, on the banks of the Vistula, the largest river in the country.

Over the centuries, the city has undergone many transformations and devastations, especially during the Second World War when it was largely destroyed. However, Warsaw was rebuilt in the following years to become a modern and dynamic city, while preserving its rich historical and cultural heritage.

The city is home to many museums, theaters, art galleries and historical monuments, such as the Royal Castle of Warsaw, the Old Town of Warsaw (a UNESCO World Heritage Site), the Palace of Culture and Science, the Old Town Market Square, Nowy Swiat Street, the Warsaw National Museum and the Warsaw Uprising Museum.



What is the capital of Poland?


Warsaw has been the capital of Poland since 1596 and since 1999 the capital of the Mazowieckie voivodship. It is situated on the Vistula River, about 320 km from the Baltic Sea and the Carpathians.