What is the capital of Burundi?

Last Updated:

The capital of Burundi is Bujumbura. Located in the west of the country, Bujumbura is the largest city in Burundi and its economic and political center. The city is bordered by Lake Tanganyika, the second largest lake in Africa. The surrounding hills provide a picturesque setting for the city.

Bujumbura was founded in 1871 by the Germans and became the capital of Burundi in 1962 when the country gained independence. It was called Usumbura in colonial times and renamed Bujumbura after independence. The city has experienced a period of political turmoil and civil war over the past few decades, but has enjoyed some stability in recent years.

Bujumbura has several tourist attractions, including the central market, the living museum, Rusizi National Park, and the beaches of Lake Tanganyika. The city is also home to important cultural and academic institutions, such as the University of Burundi and the French Institute.



What is the capital of Burundi?


Gitega is the capital and second largest city of Burundi, located east of Bujumbura, with a population of more than one hundred thousand inhabitants. It is the capital of the province of Gitega, one of the 18 provinces of the country.