What is the capital of Kiribati?

Last Updated:

The capital of Kiribati is South Tarawa, located on Tarawa Island, one of the Gilbert Islands of this Pacific island nation.

South Tarawa is located at the southern end of Tarawa Island, which is a chain of narrow coral islands stretching about 40 kilometers into the Pacific Ocean. The city is divided into two parts by a lagoon, with Betio, an important World War II port, located on a small island north of the main city. South Tarawa is the political and commercial center of the country, with government offices, hotels, restaurants, markets and schools.

South Tarawa’s history is marked by World War II, when Japanese forces invaded and occupied the Gilbert Islands, including Tarawa, in December 1941. The United States led a bloody campaign to retake the islands in November 1943, marked by intense fighting at Betio. More than 6,000 Japanese and Americans lost their lives in the battle, which ultimately resulted in U.S. forces gaining control of the Gilbert Islands.

Today, South Tarawa faces many challenges, including clean water supply, waste management, environmental protection, and overpopulation. The city is also vulnerable to climate change, including rising seas and declining drinking water quality due to increasing salinity. However, the city is also home to a rich and diverse culture, with unique musical and artistic traditions that are enjoyed throughout the country.

In conclusion, South Tarawa is an important and symbolic city for Kiribati as the political and economic center of the country. Although it faces many challenges, the city continues to be home to a rich and vibrant culture that is important to the nation’s heritage.



What is the capital of Kiribati?


Tarawa is an atoll in the Republic of Kiribati, where the capital is located. The town is best known for the battle that took place there in 1943, mainly at Betio, during World War II,