What is the capital of Slovakia?

Last Updated:

Bratislava has been the capital of Slovakia since the country gained independence in 1993.

Before that, it was the capital of the Czechoslovak Socialist Republic, a state that included the Czech Republic and Slovakia. Bratislava is located in southwestern Slovakia, on the banks of the Danube River, near the Austrian and Hungarian borders.

The city has a population of about 430,000 and is an important economic, cultural and political center of the country. Bratislava has a rich historical and cultural heritage, with many castles, churches and buildings from different eras. It is also a popular tourist destination in Central Europe.



What is the capital of Slovakia?


Bratislava has been the capital of independent Slovakia since 1993. It is located in the southwestern part of the country, close to the borders with Austria, Hungary and the Czech Republic on the one hand and the Austrian capital Vienna on the other.