What is the capital of Sri Lanka?

Last Updated:

The capital of Sri Lanka is Colombo, a city located on the west coast of the island. Colombo is the largest city in Sri Lanka and is the political, economic and cultural center of the country.

Colombo is located on the west coast of Sri Lanka, at an altitude of 1 meter above sea level. The city is bordered by the Indian Ocean and lies on the estuary of the Kelani River. Colombo is also the starting point of the main road linking Sri Lanka to India.

Colombo has a rich and complex history. The city was founded by the Portuguese in the 16th century, who established a trading post in the area. Over time, Colombo became an important trade and transportation center in the region, attracting traders and travelers from around the world. After Sri Lanka gained independence in 1948, Colombo became the capital of the new country.



What is the capital of Sri Lanka?


Sri Jayawardenapura Kotte is the administrative capital of Sri Lanka. It is located in the south-eastern suburbs of Colombo, the economic capital. Both cities are part of the Western Province.