What is the capital of the Republic of Congo?

Last Updated:

Brazzaville is the political, administrative and economic capital of the Republic of Congo. Located on the right bank of the Congo River, it is the most populous city in the country with approximately 1.8 million inhabitants. Founded in 1880 by the Frenchman Pierre Savorgnan de Brazza, it owes its name to him.

Brazzaville is the center of economic and cultural life in Congo. It is home to the presidential palace, the seat of government, the country’s main companies and banks, as well as the main institutions of higher learning. The city is also an important transportation hub, connecting Congo to other countries in the region.

Brazzaville is a city rich in history and culture. It has many tourist sites, such as the Basilica of Saint Anne of the Congo, the Cathedral of Our Lady of the Congo, the National Museum, the Poto-Poto market, the Pierre Savorgnan de Brazza monument, and many others. The city is also known for its annual festivals, such as the FESPAM (Pan-African Music Festival), the Festi-Brazza (theater festival) and the Mantsina sur scène (dance festival).



What is the capital of the Republic of Congo?


Brazzaville is the political and administrative capital, as well as the most populous city in the Republic of Congo. It was also the capital of Free France from 1940 to 1942.