What is the capital of Uruguay?

Last Updated:

Montevideo is the capital and largest city of Uruguay, located in the southern part of the country, on the Rio de la Plata. With a population of approximately 1.3 million inhabitants, it is also the main economic, cultural and educational center of the country. Montevideo has a rich architectural and cultural heritage, with historical monuments and emblematic places such as Plaza Independencia and Plaza Cagancha. The city also has a strong tourist and beach culture, with well-equipped beaches like Pocitos. Montevideo is home to some of the country’s most important ports and is an important hub for transportation and trade in the region.



What is the capital of Uruguay?


Montevideo is the capital, main port and largest city of Uruguay and is also the capital of the department of Montevideo. Montevideo has one of the most important harbors in the Americas.