What is the capital of Malta?

Last Updated:

Valletta is a city located on the east coast of the island of Malta, in the Mediterranean Sea. It was founded in 1566 by Jean Parisot de Valette, Grand Master of the Order of Malta, hence its name.

The city is an example of Baroque architecture and was declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO in 1980. It is surrounded by walls, and its historic center is dominated by the Cathedral of St. John, where the works of the famous Baroque painter Caravaggio are located. The city is also known for its many narrow, picturesque streets, lively squares, public gardens and museums that showcase Malta’s history and culture.

Valletta is not only the capital of Malta, but also the economic, cultural and political center of the country.



What is the capital of Malta?


Valletta is the capital of the Republic of Malta. It is located on the north-eastern coast of the island of Malta, in the south-eastern quarter of the island, and is the seat of a Kunsill Lokali of the south-eastern region.