What is the original name of Roland-Garros?

Last Updated:

The original name of the French Open is Les Internationaux de France. This prestigious tennis tournament, also known as the French Open, takes place every year in Paris at the Roland-Garros stadium.

Inaugurated in 1891, it was originally a national championship reserved for French players or members of French clubs. It wasn’t until 1925 that the tournament was opened to international players, hence its official name Les Internationaux de France.

The tournament was renamed in 1928 in tribute to Roland Garros, French aviator and World War I hero, to mark the inauguration of the stadium built to host the Davis Cup final. Roland Garros was not only an aviation pioneer, but also a passionate tennis player, making the tribute particularly fitting.

Roland-Garros is the only one of the four Grand Slam tournaments to be played on clay, a surface that demands specific endurance and strategic skills from the players. The French Open is renowned for its unique atmosphere, the beauty of its iconic red clay courts and the technical challenges it presents to the world’s greatest tennis players.

Since its inception, the tournament has witnessed the triumph of many legendary champions and remains one of the most watched sporting events in the world. The name Les Internationaux de France reflects the tournament’s international outlook, while the name Roland-Garros pays tribute to a national hero and a long sporting tradition.



What is the original name of Roland-Garros?


The French Open, or Roland-Garros Tournament, is a tennis tournament.